History of FISIP UI


Faculty of Social and Political Science Universitas Indonesia (also known as FISIP UI) started with the forming of Publication Major (now recognized as Department of Communication) at Faculty of Law and Public Affairs (then known as Fakultas Hukum dan Ilmu Pengetahuan Kemasyarakatan or FH-IPK) on December 12, 1959. The purpose back then was to increase the quality of press by giving journalists the chance to join university-level education in journalism.


Along with the growth of publication and journalism, came the urgency to develop other branches of social studies, such as Sociology, Political Science and Public Administration. Further step needed to be done since these subjects have grown rapidly, in both scientific and practical usage.


After conducting several workshops to discuss the idea, on September 1, 1962—led by Dean of FH-IPK Prof. Sujono Hadinoto, S.H.—it was officially decided for Public Affairs to expand its scope. The field covered six majors, which is Publication, Political Science, Public Administration, Sociology, Criminology and Social Welfare Science.


According to Decree no. 42 of 1968 by General Director of Higher Education, Public Affairs was officially separated from Faculty of Law and Public Affairs (FH-IPK). Starting February 1, 1968, its status was changed to independent faculty and known as Faculty of Public Affairs (Fakultas Ilmu Pengetahuan Kemasyarakatan or FIPK) Universitas Indonesia. Prof. Dr. Selo Soemardjan was appointed as the first dean and officiated for two years.


In 1970, came the urgency to come up with a uniform name for faculties of social sciences. In sub-consortium meeting of social science that was held on 4-5 August 1970, the name Faculty of Social Science (Fakultas Ilmu-ilmu Sosial) was proposed. The meeting was attended by representatives of Universitas Indonesia, Universitas Gadjah Mada, Universitas Hasanuddin and Universitas Padjadjaran. According to that decision, Faculty of Public Affairs (Fakultas Ilmu Pengetahuan Kemasyarakatan or FIPK) Universitas Indonesia was changed to Faculty of Social Science (Fakultas Ilmu-ilmu Sosial or FIS) Universitas Indonesia, through Decree No.002/SK/R/BR/72 by Rector of Universitas Indonesia. The independence of FIS UI was also strengthened by Decree no. 31/C/1972 by Ministry of Education and Culture.


In 1982, FIS UI was changed to Faculty of Social and Political Science (Fakultas Ilmu Sosial dan Ilmu Politik or FISIP) Universitas Indonesia—according to Presidential Decree of Republic of Indonesia no. 44 of 1982. In the same time, the Semestral Credit System (Sistem Kredit Semester or SKS) began to be applied in faculty’s curriculum. Meanwhile, three of Sociology’s study program was restructured to one merged major. That being said, in 1982 FISIP UI had six majors involving Communication Studies, Political Science, Public Administration, Sociology, Criminology and Social Welfare Studies.


A year later, in 1983, Anthropology became the 7th major after moving from Faculty of Humanities (Fakultas Sastra) Universitas Indonesia to FISIP UI. In 1985, International Relation Major was opened as an expansion of International and Regional Relation Study Program from Political Science Major.


Since 2003, the term ‘major’ was replaced with ‘department’. Hence, until present day, FISIP UI has eight departments comprising of Department of Communication, Department of Political Science, Department of Administrative Science, Department of Sociology, Department of Criminology, Department of Social Welfare, Department of Anthropology and Department of International Relation.


Below is the list of Dean that has led FISIP UI:
1. Prof. Dr. Selo Soemardjan (1968–1974)
2. Prof. Dr. (HC) Miriam Budiardjo, M.A. (1974–1979)
3. Prof. Dr. R. Tobias Soebekti, MPA. (1979–1982)
4. Prof. Dr. Manasse Malo (1982–1988)
5. Prof. Dr. Juwono Sudarsono, M.A. (1988–1994)
6. Prof. Dr. Muhammad Budyatna (1994–1998)
7. Prof. Kamanto Sunarto, S.H., Ph.D. (1998–2001)
8. Prof. Dr. Martani Huseini (2001– 2003)
9. Prof. Dr. der Soz. Gumilar Rusliwa Somantri (2003–2008)
10. Prof. Dr. Bambang Shergi Laksmono, M.Sc. (2008–2013)
11. Dr. Arie Setiabudi Soesilo, M.Sc. (2013—now)